Don’t ask me I don’t give a damn, next stop is Vietnam

What an exciting week!  (That was sarcasm).  We did basically nothing.  I got new glass frames and that was exciting.  But there were no classes and nothing to do.  We leave for Vietnam on Tuesday and are looking forward to that.  Two weeks there and then back here for a few days and then the 29-hour train ride to Harbin to see the Ice Festival.  Four nights in Harbin (temperature is very cold) and then we fly to Beijing and go to Baoding for 10 days for the Lunar New Year and to spend some family time together.  Will I be bored?  Probably but who cares.  Shujie will get to spend time with her family and I like them too.  I’ll have books to read and oodles of movies on my computer.  I will survive.

Shujie’s attitude is good after last week’s debacle.  She felt much better after telling them what she thought.  Chinese underlings don’t speak to their bosses that way so she kind of blew them away.  I just hope she survives all this free time.  I asked out of my contract but they said no way.  For me to cancel my contract I would have to give 90-days notice and then pay a $1000 fine.  That’s the only way I can get a different job now and that’s not going to happen.  So we will rough out the year and then it’s on to better things.

I could actually just leave and go back to Canada and pretend this year never happened but there really aren’t any jobs for me in Canada.  I have no desire to do computer stuff, and the things I know are out of date.

Who knows what will happen.  Maybe something good will happen to Shujie come March.  She deserves it.  I just want this year to be over so I can go somewhere else.

The place here is pretty dead.  I think all the students are finally gone.  I read, I play on the computer, I watch movies, I have an exciting life.  It’s too cold to hang out outside so we live an indoors life.

I really don’t have much to say.  I’ll have more to say after Vietnam.  I thought the temperature would be about 18 degrees Celsius but that’s just Hanoi.  Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) is in the 30’s (Celsius) so we will be going through quite a temperature change.  I’m glad I checked because I had no intention of bringing shorts.

I feel like I’m cheating by signing off so soon.  I have to go now and suffer through my holidays.  Peace out!

2 comments
  1. Tomas said:

    Hmmm …

    This is by far, the shortest adventure story ever by the Mr. Martin … 🙂 …

    Let us know of your arrival …

    Who would of thought, when we were youngsters, the news of Vietnam would ever include the Tales of the Martin Clan – (since it has never been good news, till now 🙂 ) …

    Looking forward to the next adventure … stay safe and keep life simple, mate … Tomas

  2. Beth said:

    Enjoy your time off, and your trip to Vietnam and what ever adventure awaits.

Leave a Reply

