There’s a place for me

I’m sure there is.  There must be.  I really don’t like teaching here because there is little to no fun involved.  This separation of boys and girls with a lack of communication between the two is annoying.  These girls are better than last semester (not as tight assed), but still, not exactly a barrel of laughs either.

My boss wanted to fire me this week.  What was my “crime”?  I took 3 sick days (boy, I felt bad).  He sent me an email asking when I started working there.  The reason for this, I believe, was to find out if I had been there longer than 3 months.  If not, he could fire me without cause.  Ha, ha, he loses.  His email actually asked me my date of “duty joining”.  That’s encouraging when the head of the English department can’t speak English.  It was almost as good as the email he sent telling everyone that is was “extremely mandatory” to attend a meeting.

I put in that I wanted to come back next school year (I don’t) and I think my sickness hurt me there.  I want to work in another city.  Actually I’d like to work in another country where boys are boys and girls are girls and I can be a goofball.  It has to be some place I can drive to from here because I love my car, so we shall see.  The Gulf States don’t seem to be made for me.

We haven’t really done anything for the last few weeks.  Shujie does whatever during the day (whatever that is), and I go to school anxiously awaiting my moment to escape.  I look at job listings but I can’t seem to find anything that looks promising.

The only reason for doing this is to have fun and do something that may be useful.  That reason is gone this year.  It’s weird.  I like Oman but hate school.  I hated China but loved school (most of the time).  I try and think what else I could do with my life but nothing pops out at me.  Everything is just so stagnant.  I have trouble writing because I really don’t have anything to say, which for me is a minor miracle.

However, there is always tomorrow and as everyone knows, you can be your bottom dollar that tomorrow they’ll be sun.  (That happens when you live in a Gulf state).

I won’t ramble on because one is not judged by the length of his post, but by the quality of what he says.  And I’ve been going on too long with nothing to say.

The sun will come up tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

